Called to Become God: The Human Vocation

Interrupting the Silence

“I should be doing more,” she said. “I want to do more but I don’t know what to do. I don’t know what God wants me to do. What is God’s will for my life?”

God's Will, Discernment, Deification, Theosis, VocationThat’s how our conversation began. Her questions and statements are more than familiar to me. I have heard them or variations of them many times before. I have asked and wrestled with them myself, more than a few times. Most of us, I think, do and usually more than once.

I wasn’t too quick to speak or to try to answer her questions. So I let silence do its work, to deepen her questions. There is more to what she was asking than her spoken questions. Besides, I don’t have her answers.

In some sense her questions may be more important than any answer she or I might give. They point to something deep within…

View original post 1,170 more words

Categories: Believe | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

